Australia opener David Warner, who was the Player of the Tournament, didn’t discover a place in Kevin Pietersen’s greatest eleven of the recently-concluded T20 World Cup.

Instead, the previous England captain opted for Mohammad Rizwan and Jos Buttler as the 2 openers, adopted by the main run-scorer of the event, Babar Azam, who scored 303 runs in 6 matches. Kevin Pietersen hailed the Pakistani captain as “among the most consistent and best T20 batters in the world.”

Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan. Image Source: Twitter

Rizwan amassed 281 runs whereas Buttler accrued 269 runs at a strike fee of 151, together with 100 towards Sri Lanka. For middle-order sports activities, Kevin Pietersen picked Sri Lanka’s Charith Asalanka and South Africa’s Aiden Markram. Both the batsmen had been performed quite a lot of impactful knocks for his or her respective groups and remained strong within the center and dying overs.

England’s Moeen Ali and Sri Lanka’s Wanindu Hasaranga are the 2 all-rounders Kevin Pietersen opted for. Hasaranga was the main wicket-taker of the event with 16 scalps – together with a hat-trick versus South Africa – and struck runs at a strike fee of 148.

Moeen Ali was England’s most economical bowler, conceding at 5.5 runs per over, and took 7 wickets. The left-hander averaged 46 with the bat whereas putting at 131.

Adam Zampa
Adam Zampa (Image Credit: Twitter)

Adam Zampa, the joint second-leading wicket-taker with 13 wickets, was an computerized decide because the leg-spinner made common strikes, and likewise bagged a five-wicket haul towards Bangladesh. Kevin Pietersen said that Zampa’s wicket-taking means within the center overs “was one of the key reasons why Australia won the tournament.”

Amongst pacers, the 41-year-old former England batsman selected Trent Boult, Anrich Nortje, Shaheen Afridi. Boult snapped up 13 wickets, Nortje took 9, and Afridi returned with 7 wickets within the event. All three pacers had been instrumental within the success of their sides.

Kevin Pietersen’s greatest XI of T20 World Cup:

Mohammad Rizwan, Jos Buttler, Babar Azam, Charith Asalanka, Aiden Markram, Moeen Ali, Wanindu Hasaranga, Adam Zampa, Trent Boult, Anrich Nortje, Shaheen Afridi

Also Read: I Still Want To See Suryakumar Yadav Bat At No. 3 And Virat Kohli At No. 4 – Gautam Gambhir

Source link