The IPL 2022 season is ready to have a rise within the variety of matches however every group will proceed to play the identical quantity of matches as in comparison with the earlier ones, i.e, fourteen matches.

The closed bidding for the 2 new groups was held at this time. Two giants within the company enterprise took residence the prizes. RP Sanjeev Goenka Group (RPSG) purchased the Lucknow franchise with a profitable bid of INR 7090 crores whereas CVC Capitals laid declare to the Ahmedabad franchise with a bid of INR 5625 crores.


MS Dhoni receives IPL 2021 trophy. (Photo: IPL)

There have been as many as 22 firms that bought the Invitation to Tender (ITT) doc but it surely got here all the way down to 9 events for the public sale that was held in Dubai on Monday. The course of went on for over six hours earlier than the BCCI had the official winners of the franchises.

The IPL 2022 format can be much like the IPL 2011 version

The improve within the variety of groups has now elevated the variety of video games within the season. With eight groups within the fray, the season had 60 matches, a combination of 56 league video games, and 4 knockouts together with the grand last. Now, the variety of video games has been prolonged to 74 however the groups will play the identical variety of matches.

IPL Trophy
IPL Trophy (Image Credit: Twitter)

Each franchise could have seven video games – residence and away. In the 2011 IPL season, the ten groups have been divided into two teams comprising 5 groups every. Each group needed to play two video games every in opposition to those in its group, then one recreation every in opposition to 4 groups within the different group, and at last two video games in opposition to the remaining franchise.

The IPL 2022 season is anticipated to observe an analogous format. The high two from the factors desk will qualify for the playoffs that embody Qualifier 1, Eliminator, Qualifier 2, and the ultimate.

Also Read – T20 World Cup 2021: Mohammad Amir Takes A Cheeky Dig At Harbhajan Singh After Pakistan’s Win Over India

Source link