Veteran actor Asha Parekh has been chosen for the Dadasaheb Phalke award for the 12 months 2020 and will likely be handed the award on the National Film Awards ceremony, to be held in New Delhi on Friday.

Making the announcement on Tuesday, Information and Broadcasting Minister Anurag Thakur mentioned, “The Dadasaheb Phalke Selection Jury has decided to recognise and award Asha Parekh-ji for her exemplary lifetime contribution to Indian Cinema.”

On the event Thakur additionally introduced that the 68th National Film Awards ceremony will likely be presided over by President Droupadi Murmu.

In a press release saying the Phalke award, the I&B Ministry mentioned, “Asha Parekh is a renowned film actress, director and producer and an accomplished classical dancer. Starting her career as a child actor, she made her debut in ‘Dil Deke Dekho’, and has acted in over 95 movies since, including Kati Patang, Teesri Manzil, Love in Tokyo, Aya Saawan Jhoom Ke, Aan Milo Sajna and Mera Gaon Mera Desh.”

In 1992, she was honoured with the Padma Shri, the nation’s fourth-highest civilian award. She served as the top of the Central Board for Film Certification between 1998 and 2001.

Parekh, 79, began her profession as a baby artist with the 1952 movie ‘Aasmaan’ and acted in Bimal Roy’s ‘Baap Beti’ two years later. She made her debut as a lead actress in Nasir Hussain’s 1959 movie ‘Dil Deke Dekho’, starring reverse Shammi Kapoor.

Also a director and producer, Parekh had helmed the acclaimed TV drama ‘Kora Kagaz’ within the late-Nineties.

The ministry acknowledged that the jury for the 52nd Dadasaheb Phalke award consisted of 5 members: singer Asha Bhosle, actor-MP Hema Malini, actor Poonam Dhillon, filmmaker T S Nagabharana, and singer Udit Narayan.

The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is the nation’s highest award within the discipline of cinema, and has been given to Rajinikanth, Amitabh Bachchan and Vinod Khanna (posthumously) in recent times.

The winners of the 68th National Film Awards for 2020 have been introduced in July, with Tamil movie ‘Soorarai Pottru’ and Hindi movie ‘Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior’ bagging most trophies. ‘Soorarai Pottru’, which bagged 5 awards, is impressed by occasions from the lifetime of Deccan Airlines founder G R Gopinath, whereas ‘Tanhaji’, which traces the lifetime of Maratha warrior Tanaji Malusare, received three.

The main actors of each films — Ajay Devgn for ‘Tanhaji’ and Suriya for ‘Soorarai Pottru’ — shared the honour for Best Actor. Soorarai Pottru’s honours additionally embody Best Actress for Aparna Balamurali.

Source link