The 68th National Film Awards ceremony, honouring the most effective that Indian cinema needed to supply within the yr 2020, was held on Friday on the Vigyan Bhawan in New Delhi. The Press Information Bureau live-streamed the ceremony on its social media channels.

The National Awards are working a yr not on time due to pandemic-related delays. The winners for the 68th National Awards had been introduced in a press convention in July. Tamil function Soorarai Pottru was named the most effective movie of the yr. The late Sachidanandan KR, popularly often known as Sachy, gained the Best Director award for his Malayalam film Ayyappanum Koshiyum. The Hindi historic drama Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior gained the Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment award.

Asha Parekh was conferred with the Dadasaheb Phalke Award. Upon receiving the award, she stated, “It’s a huge honour to receive the Dadasaheb Phalke Award. It makes me very grateful that the recognition comes to me just a day before my 80th birthday. This is the best honour I could get from the government of India.” The actor thanked the jury for recognising her contribution to Indian cinema and added, “I have been in this industry for the last 60 years and still continue to be attached to it in my own small way. Our film industry is the best place to be in and I would like to suggest to youngsters who are in this industry to have perseverance, discipline, determination and be grounded.” She additionally congratulated all of the award winners.

Asha Parekh obtained the Dadasaheb Phalke Award from the president of India, Droupadi Murmu. (Photo: Praveen Khanna/The Indian Express)

You can watch the ceremony right here:

Tanhaji star Ajay Devgn shared the Best Actor award with Soorarai Pottru’s Suriya. Aparna Balamurali gained the Best Actress award, additionally for Soorarai Pottru. The prestigious Dadasaheb Phalke Award will likely be introduced to veteran actor Asha Parekh on the ceremony. She was introduced because the recipient of the honour earlier this week.

A money prize of Rs 50,000 every will likely be awarded to the winners within the supporting and lead actor classes. Rs 250,000 will likely be awarded to the producers and director of the Best Feature Film winner. You can learn the complete record of winners here.

Source link